The Power of Others

One of my favorite blogs, www.getrichslowly.com today posted an article about coupon clipping and myths surrounding it. I think the article is very well written. Yet, as I read about it, I found myself not agreeing with the premise. I agree that coupon clipping can save a lot of money. Yet, in my experience, I usually don’t use much coupon because I cannot find what I need in the coupon insert of the newspaper.

What I find interesting here though, is not only my reaction to the article, but how I caught myself doubting my opinion. I asked myself: am I not diligent enough? Have I been wasting my hard-earned money? Am I not organized enough to plan my shopping ahead?

Then, as I clicked on the comments, I actually saw many people sharing my experience of not able to find coupons for the products they want. This will just be a fine information if it is not for me catching myself feeling assured and validated. Isn’t it interesting that my feeling changes as I read the comments that I agree with me? Granted that without reading the comments I would still not change my behavior on coupon clipping, but I could see that by reading similar experiences, I felt more secure in my opinion.

This is why I think people need support and validation from others. This is also why in a group, people often do thing that is greater (can be greater in goodness or greater in badness) than themselves. This is where the power of others come to influence us.

This entry was posted in Self Development, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Power of Others

  1. Pingback: The Power of Support | Adventurer101's Blog

Leave a Reply

