My Favorite Mexican Food – Chile Rellenos

It’s been two and a half weeks since I arrived here, at San Miguel de Allende. Living with a Mexican family and eating what “la señora de la casa” cooked was both a pleasure and a challenge. Here, in Mexico, people eat a nice little breakfast, a huge lunch, and a little dinner. Lunch is served at around 2:30 p.m., dinner is served at around 8:30 p.m. And when I say dinner, it is more like snack. Almost every night, I have a choice of quesadilla, fruits, or sandwich.  It definitely takes sometimes for my stomach to get used to eating very late. The worst time is between breakfast, which I have to finish by 8:00 a.m., and lunch at 2:30 p.m. Man… by 12 noon, I’m starving!!

But enough complaining. Now let me tell you about the good part – lunch!! Yes, lunch is a very enjoyable time for me. The lady of the house is a good cook and she always uses fresh ingredients. Since here there are so many small stores selling fruits, vegetables, and meats, everyday the lady just go to stores within walking distance to buy what she’s going to cook. Very different from me, where I have to drive 10 minutes and buy 1 week worth of ingredients.

Among all of those lunches (comida they called it), my favorite is Chile Rellenos – which mean stuffed bell-pepper like chilly. Here is a picture of it:

Looked great, don’t you think? Yeah, the lady of the house pays attention to presentation. (BTW, here is a link to recipe if you’re interested in making it, let me know how it goes…)

Just to show you how cool her presentation is, here is a picture of how she serves fruits:

Looked apetizing, don’t you think? I need to learn to pay attention to presentation, coz when I cook, I seldom put things nicely like this.

Another favorite of mine, is tilapia in breadcrumbs. It looked like this:

I watched the lady when she made it, and it did not seem to be difficult to make, so I plan to make one when I get home.

Have I worked up your appetite yet? What do you think? Do you have any favorite recipe? Or do you have any favorite Mexican food? Share it, would you?

This entry was posted in San Miguel De Allende, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

