A Letter to God – On Human’s Time Perception

Lounging around - not caring about time

Dear God,

Today is Friday. I’m trying very hard here not to say Thank God It’s Friday. I honestly often wonder, why is it that we are so prejudice about days. We hate Mondays and we love Fridays.  We often think our weekdays are long and our weekends are too short. We feel better if we start our resolution on New Year’s day or on a Monday or on the 1st of the month.

Have You observed that too, God? I sometimes imagine that You shake Your head when You are watching us from up there. Yeah, we often create our own suffering. We want the weekend to come fast and then when it arrives, we cling into it, and complain that it is too short.

I remember that series from StarTrek when Commander Data boiled a water and timed it while he was watching and while he did not watch. Both would be boiling after the same duration. But we, human, have a saying “a watched pots never boils“.

Even more strange is that after we said that, we actually often spend time obsessively watching our pots boil, or now that there is this activity called blogging, we watch our mail for new comments, new subscribers, or new followers. We are truly an interesting and irrational creatures, aren’t we?

Years ago, in school my teacher said that everyday is Your day. This is the day the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad, that’s the song that we were taught. It’s certainly easy for me to say that today. May be I’ll try to do that next week, and on a Monday since I want to develop a habit of liking each day equally. After all, I live in a supposedly equal opportunity country. Wish me luck!

Yours truly,

Maria

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, We, Human. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Letter to God – On Human’s Time Perception

  1. Tony says:

    How funny!!! I wrote this in my facebook status way before I read your blog: “Is it Friday already? Man, I wish it’s still Wednesday.” How appropriate 🙂

  2. Maureen says:

    This is such a beautiful and heartfelt post, Maria! I love what your teacher said and couldn’t agree more. Every day is a blessing from God. Yesterday is the past, tomorrow is a mystery but today is a gift 😀

  3. Brandi says:

    Oh I love this post Maria! You are a beautiful writer. So glad you’ve started blogging. =)

Leave a Reply

